Dataguard, Streams, GoldenGate and RAC Compared

Dataguard: Copy of primary database  used mainly for disaster recovery.  There are two types of dataguard

  1. Physical dataguard:  Physically identical to primary database on a block-block basis.
  2. Logical dataguard:  Same logical data as primary; physical organization and structure can be different.

Streams: Propagates data and events from one database to another or within same database

 GoldenGate: Capture, transform, and deliver data. Supports heterogeneous databases.

RAC: Real Application Clusters is cluster database with shared cache architecture to overcome the limitations of traditional shared-nothing and shared-disk. In simple terms, it is multiple instances of Oracle sharing the same database. To avoid confusion, please note an instance is defined as of SGA and Oracle background process.

Dataguard Streams GoldenGate RAC
Main Objective  

-Disaster Recovery

-Data Protection

-High Availability


-Data Replication-Data Sharing -Data Replication

-Data Sharing

-High Availability


Platform**/OS/Oracle SW  

-Must  be same


-Can be Different -Can be Different -Must  be same
Full Replication  



-Yes -Yes -No
Heterogeneous DB Support  



-No -Yes -No
Replicate Data Subset  

-Yes (Logical Only)


-Yes -Yes -No
Near Zero Upgrade  



-Yes -Yes -No

**Platform:  Depending on definition of platform, they can be different. For example P550 can be used instead of P560 for Dataguard


%d bloggers like this: